Posted by: kevinfortruth | June 12, 2012

“You’re So Vain,” please meet “You’re So Bain”


“You’re So Vain,” please meet “You’re So Bain”

Carly Simon – enough said.  Just her name brings back memories of when each of her songs became popular – where I was, who I was with, what was going on in the world at the time, etc.

She didn’t make a ton of hits but the one’s she made were incredible.  I looked through the list of her hits today and I tried to figure out just why, “You’re So Vain” is my all-time favorite of hers.

Obviously she made others that were equally seductive, well written, and moving – such as, “Nobody does it better”, “Haven’t got time for the pain”, “Anticipation”, “That’s the way I’ve always heard it should be”, “Legend in your own time”, and “Mockingbird.”

Well, what is truly unique is that “You’re so Vain” is all about someone Carly was in a relationship with and ever since she released it, millions of fans around the world have been speculating about who was the object of her lyrics.  From what I understand, Carly, even after all these years is still refusing to divulge the mystery man – there are maybe 5 individuals who fit the bill – but it remains speculation.

Oh, if anyone reading this wants to speculate on this mystery man, please leave a comment.  In addition, if anyone knows anything about Carly divulging the mystery man and can provide a link for the rest of us, please share it as a comment.

Okay, enough about the lady with the beautiful voice.

Let’s get back to the title of the blog.  When Mitt Romney threw his hat in the ring for the Republican nomination for President of the United States, he started out running on his record as Governor of Massachusetts and his time with Bain Capital.

Personally, I feel those two stints do not qualify Romney for the presidency of the United States.  Romney left Massachusetts worse off than when he took office as Governor.  It is a given that Mitt Romney was quite successful at Bain Capital where he obviously made a ton of money, but he only made that money by chopping up companies and letting employees go.  Considering the current unemployment rate in the country, the last thing we need is someone in charge whose only experience with jobs is laying off people – that skill will only increase the unemployment rate – not decrease it.

A few weeks ago, while in my car, I heard “You’re so Vain” on the radio and it made me think of Mitt Romney because of involvement with Bain Capital.  The words Vain and Bain kept circling in my mind until I started singing, “You’re so Bain”, and then I gave thought to writing some parody lyrics that I could blog about – maybe even do a video about – a video that could go viral.  The only problem with a video is that I cannot hold a tune – so if I made a video it would make people nauseous instead of making them laugh.  The lack of a singing voice did not deter me however because I thought it would simply be fun enough just writing some tacky, yet truthful, lyrics that I could put in a blog.

I finished the lyrics a few days ago and I started doing some research about Carly Simon to find out about her political persuasion and in doing so I was truly shocked to see a link to a music video titled, “You’re so Bain.”

Here is the link to the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fPQ3AuQ1kY

The music portion of the video sounds pretty good for a parody – but the graphics appear to have been hastily put together and they distract from the music.  Also, I had some problems understanding some of the words because the volume of the music blurred out the lyrics.

The lyrics I came up with deal with Romney’s Mormon religion and how he might give preference to it when making presidential decisions.  I also wrote about how he threw people under the bus when he sold their companies.  Lastly, I also threw in a reference to Mitt’s speech to graduates of Liberty University.

I am sure my lyrics can be tweaked a little better by a professional song writer but they are good enough for someone to make a parody video that could go viral.

If anyone wants to use the lyrics, all I ask in return is two things.  Please give me credit for the basic lyrics and be sure to send me an email or a link to the music video you come up with.

I went online to several lyrics databases and it might appear that there are too many choruses of “You’re so Vain,” but I assure everyone that my lyrics line up well from top to bottom.

Well, after all that, here are my lyrics:

You’re so Bain by Kevin Cavanaugh

You walked into your Mormon church and said you were going to run.

You assured the Mormons they would always come first

As sure as the setting sun.

You had one eye on the White House and the other on what you could gain.

Your Mormon friends know – they’ll be your partners,

They’ll be your partner’s, and…

 

You’re so Bain,

You probably

think this song is about you,

You’re so Bain,

making money is all about you,

‘Bout you ‘Bout you

When you were Governor of Massachusetts, the people were quite naïve,

You grabbed up companies then chopped them up

And you watched good people leave

You sold away the things they had and one was security

They had some dreams, they were clouds in their coffee,

clouds in their coffee..

 

You’re so Bain,

you probably think this song is about you,

You’re so Bain,

making money is all about you,

‘Bout you ‘Bout you

They had some dreams, they were clouds in their coffee,

clouds in their coffee, and..

 

You’re so Bain,

you probably think this song is about you,

You’re so Bain,

Firing people is all about you,

‘Bout you ‘Bout you

Well, I hear you went to Liberty U.

and gave a speech to the Christians there.

You never told them of your Mormon faith,

or that you’re a millionaire.

Well you’ve lied a lot ‘bout creating jobs

and leaving Mass. in the black

Voters will soon find out, you’re just a political hack,

You’re just a political hack…..

 

You’re so Bain,

you probably think this song is about you,

You’re so Bain,

making money is all about you,

‘Bout you, ‘Bout you, .Bout you

 

You’re so Bain,

you probably think this song is about you,

You’re so Bain,

Firing people is all about you,

 

You’re so Bain,

Making money is all about you,

 

You’re so Bain (so Bain)

Firing people is all about you

‘Bout you, ‘Bout you, ‘Bout you

.

.

.

Comments appreciated

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

