Posted by: kevinfortruth | October 23, 2010

On a lighter note, I got lucky yesterday…..


Yesterday turned out to be a beautiful day.  I decided to take advantage of the nice weather by driving across town to grab some Chinese Food,  to pay a bill, and to also take in a movie – in that order. 

I miss the great selection of Oriental restaurants in San Antonio, Texas.  I have been accused of using them as markers when giving anyone directions – i.e. make a left at Saigon Elite and then go two blocks and it will be on your left side.  Not only did I know where all the good Oriental restaurants were, most were within 5 – 6 miles of my apartment.  

I also miss how many theater complexes were within 10 miles of my apartment complex. If memory serves me correctly, I could choose between 6 movie complexes having approximately 75 screens.

 Well back to my lucky day. 

 There are not any good Oriental restaurants within 10 miles of where I currently live and there is only one movie theater complex within that same driving distance.  It is a smaller, older movie complex and is rumored that it might be closing soon due to decreasing movie attendance.

So, I chose a Chinese restaurant that is about 15 miles away – which turned out to be quite nice.  It had a nice selection of lunch entrees that were reasonably priced.  The food was quite good and the portion reasonable for lunch.

Now for the movie – there were three movies I was considering, “Life as we know it”,  “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” and “Red” – in that order.  I was in the mood for a “chic flick” kind of a movie first but I was open to any of the three.  When I got to the counter inside “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” had already started, which was fine, so I asked for one senior ticket to “Life as we know it” and the cashier said that performance was pre-booked for a private party and was not available to the general public.  Well, so much for chic flick’s or comedies.  I never heard of a theater blocking out an entire performance to a private party.  In fact it bothered me a little because if that was the only movie I was open to seeing, I had driven all the way to not be able to see what I wanted, even though I had gotten there early.

So, I asked for a ticket to see “Red”.  I figured it would be entertaining even though some critics did not rate it as highly as the other two movies.

Prior to the previews starting, I inserted my earplugs.  This theater really pumps up the volume during the previews – I really do not know why, but they do.  As I thought, the previews were, in fact, loud, but I came prepared.

The movie started out to be quite entertaining and had a few surprises – to my delight.  One surprise, however, was that the movie stopped about halfway through due to a technical glitch.  After a couple of minutes of total darkness the theater lights were turned up slightly and a theater employee apologized and said that the stream was interrupted and they would have to reboot the operating system to get the movie started again.  He assured us that it would restart at the approximate spot it stopped so we would not lose anything.

It started back up but there was no volume.  One patron who was seated a few rows behind me yelled out “We better get our money back”.  His arrogance bothered me but I remained silent.  Again, the theater employee came back and assured us they were working on the problem and the movie would be back on shortly.  It was and there were no additional problems.

To my surprise, at the end of the movie the theater employee again apologized and handed out a free pass to everyone, which was a thoughtful gesture on behalf of the theater.

While exiting the theater I started chatting with a couple in front of me and we exchanged niceties.  They said they were from Maryland and were in the area on vacation.  They further said they were going on to visit Gettysburg in the morning and would be continuing back to Maryland after that.  I wished them safe passage.

They talked to each other and then turned to me and offered me their passes, which I accepted graciously.  I thanked them and after a brief conversation we parted ways.

So, after not getting to see my first choice, I attended a movie that broke down for a short while, I was rewarded with three passes for unrestricted future performances, which was a pleasant surprise.

All in all, it turned out to be a pretty nice day – a nice Chinese lunch and four movies for the price of one senior ticket.  It just doesn’t get much better than that.

Responses

  1. Pretty lucky indeed, tripled your investment.


Comments appreciated

Categories

