Posted by: kevinfortruth | July 10, 2011

Let’s make the Casey Anthony trial a little more personal.


I am prefacing this blog with two sayings – “I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet” and “You don’t know someone until you walk a mile in his shoes”.

For the past day or two I have been thinking about the Casey Anthony trial and the outrage so many tourists and residents of Orlando displayed during the first days after the verdict was announced.

I can understand how people are upset that Caylee is dead and that everyone wants the culprit to pay dearly for Caylee’s death. Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on your personal belief, Casey was found “Not Guilty”, yet many people still believe she either murdered Caylee or at a minimum covered up an accidental death instead of calling the police.

What is adding to this situation is that for the past three years Casey has been constantly blamed for Caylee’s death by one particular talk show host – even though there was no evidence at the time to support the nightly attacks.

So, in an attempt to understand human nature a little better, I would like to present a scenario that will make all of us think about things maybe from a different perspective.

Let’s make believe, for sake of argument, that Casey is your sister, sister-in-law, first cousin or even maybe your own daughter.

I know you might consider this scenario far fetched because you are confident no one in your immediate, or even your extended, family would be capable of committing a crime that Casey is still being accused of – and a crime that she has been found “Not Guilty” of by a jury of her peers.

So, let’s continue with my scenario.

1. If Casey was related to you and she had been arrested for the said crime and had been in prison for the past three years, would you just sit by and let Nancy Grace berate your relative and accuse her of murder? Would you continue to tune in every night and subconsciously thank Nancy for all her investigative reporting – reporting that ultimately could bias the jury selection process and even cause a juror or two to not buy into any alternative theories that were presented by the defense?

2. Also, if your relative were found “Not Guilty”, would you push her attorney to sue HLN and Nancy Grace for all the untruths they spread for years? Would you feel that your relative was entitled to compensation because of what has been said on air for years?

Well, I am going to wrap this up so everyone can participate in the enclosed Poll. Please take the time to make your selections.





Responses

  1. Some say the world will end in fire,
    Some say in ice.
    From what I’ve tasted of desire
    I hold with those who favor fire.
    But if it had to perish twice,
    I think I know enough of hate
    To say that for destruction ice
    Is also great
    And would suffice.

    • Interesting post – Robert Frost would be most appreciative. At this point in my life, I am leaning toward fire – just look at the temperatures in your native San Antonio and throughout the South in general – to say nothing of the melting glaciers and the snowcaps. Global warming might be an understatement.

  2. I didnt say it before, but I do agree with your post.

  3. I think it was their cockiness, their arrogance, and especially Jeff Ashton’s smirks and outward signs of laughing at Baez. Juries are mostly made up of blue collar individuals and I cannot imagine that any of them approved of Jeff Ashton’s condescending mannerism toward the defense.

    Also, I believe Jeff Ashton was “forced” into retirement by his boss. I really thought he was almost suffereing from a nervous breakdown when the verdicts were being read. Linda Drane Burdick also displayed a little conceit and arrogance and all that played into the verdicts as well.

    • One could only hope about the heads rolling, I only home one of them is on from 7-8 on HLN and the other is on from 8 – 9, same channel (oh, EST).


Comments appreciated

Categories

