Posted by: kevinfortruth | March 4, 2013

Should I wear my UCONN basketball shirt for tonight’s game at Notre Dame?


No, I am not flying to South Bend – I will be sitting on the edge of my la-z-boy recliner – ideally enjoying a pizza and a soda.

Over the past 3 – 4 months I have been purchasing t-shirts of teams that I like – my first purchase was a long sleeved Notre Dame football t-shirt that I bought on sale at Boscov’s.  The t-shirt was a commemorative shirt that came out just before the BCS championship game between Notre Dame and the University of Alabama.  I wore it while watching the game and to my dismay, Alabama won the game.

Not to be discouraged, I went back to Boscov’s a few weeks later and noticed that they had a ton of collegiate basketball t-shirts on sale, so I purchased a short sleeved UCONN basketball t-shirt at a ridiculously low price. 

Being originally from New England, I have been a UCONN fan for years.  I tend to follow the UCONN women’s team more than the men’s team – partly because I am the father of three daughters – one who played basketball in high school. 

While I was living in Highlands Ranch, Colorado from 2000 – 2004, there was a young girl named Ann Strothers who played for our local high school who was recruited by UCONN.  She turned out to be a darn good college player and helped UCONN win a few national titles.

It was at this point that I became a die hard UCONN fan and followed every game – standings, rankings, and rivalries between UCONN and Baylor, Stanford, Notre Dame, and other Big East teams.

Enough History.  Well, I bought the UCONN t-shirt the day before Notre Dame went to Hartford to play UCONN.  At the time, UCONN was undefeated and Notre Dame had only one loss and that was to Baylor.

To make a long story short, I wore the shirt on game day and UCONN lost by the smallest of margins – one point, 73 – 72. 

The bottom line is that I dressed in team t-shirts for two games and both of my teams lost.

Not to be deterred, I went back to Boscov’s and I noticed that they had even more college basketball t-shirts on sale.   Most of the t-shirts were for colleges up and down the East Coast as well as Big 10 schools and ACC and SEC schools.  The sales person said they ordered t-shirts of teams they thought would be selected to play in the NCAA basketball tournament in March. 

On a side note, what a job that would be – being a buyer for a department store and having to make decisions on which teams you thought would make a tournament and then ordering based on your analysis.

To make a long story short, I purchased a second UCONN t-shirt (with different printing) and two other t-shirts – one for Penn State and another for Duke.

Last week I broke out the Penn State t-shirt and while wearing it, they lost to Minnesota. 

I began to wonder if I am a jinx – because when I wear these t-shirts, my teams lose.

Duke played Miami the other night but I decided against wearing my Duke t-shirt because the game was not on ESPN.  Unfortunately, Duke lost anyway.  Prior to that loss, Duke only had one loss all season and that loss was to UCONN.

So, here is my dilemma – UCONN is playing Notre Dame tonight in South Bend and I am wondering if I should wear my UCONN t-shirt during the game.

So far, I am three for three – not counting the Duke loss to Miami.

I am usually not a superstitious person, really, but ever since I purchased these t-shirts all my favorite teams have lost when I wore their team t-shirts.

Who knows, maybe I should go back to Boscov’s in the morning and buy a Notre Dame basketball t-shirt – that way, Notre Dame might lose the game.  I guess I could do this on the cheap and pull out my Notre Dame football t-shirt and wear that during the game tonight.  But then I fear that Karma would kick in and UCONN would surely lose.

Decisions, decisions, decisions.

Thoughts anyone?  Please vote in the survey and if you have time, leave a comment. 

I know I am overanalyzing this and I would not be offended if anyone left comments to that effect.

Responses

  1. True Kevin you might do it that away to bad you don’t have a t-shirt that has half and half on it. Well good luck Uconn hope they win tonight.

  2. I think you should wear the Norte Dame shirt the first half than the Uconn the second half.

    • The way my luck has been going, I should wear the UCONN shirt in the first half and then the ND shirt in the second half, that way, ND will fall apart and lose the game to UCONN by 5 points. IMHO.


Comments appreciated

Categories

